The Dangle

I’d love to know who invented the dangle, also known as the toe-drag, but regardless of whoever it was, I gotta tell you, this move is a wonderful thing and in the grand scheme of mankind’s accomplishments, the dangle isn’t given nearly enough space at the top of the list.

The toe of the blade is the key element to being able to pull off the dangle.  You see, the dangle requires that the toe of the stick be used as the sweet spot to pull the puck back in towards the puck handler in a lightning quick motion.  The rounder the blade at the toe, the more blade on the ice during that motion.  With a rectangular toe, you have only the point of the blade and too much chance  for the sweeping dangle motion to miss the puck, or not pull it back cleanly on the line you need.  For most of adult life, my selection of hockey sticks has been influenced most by the shape of the toe of the blade – not the curve of the blade itself – but the roundness of the blade at the toe.

As a kid, I remember the old Koho 201’s, the ones with the five blue strips down near the bottom of the shaft, had beautiful blades for this.   But I cannot remember ever dangling with that stick.  In fact, I cannot remember when I first used this move.  I’d hate to think I went through all my younger years and never used it but my memory doesn’t go back that far I guess.  Fortunately, I think I probably get a chance to try it every game I play now.

To all you defencemen who know I’m going to do it, and who break it up cleanly and make me look ridiculous when you do (because nothing looks more minor- league than a forward who’s dangle doesn’t dangle the D), may you be fooled at least some of the time on future dangle attempts.  To all you defencemen who get bitten by the dangle, don’t despair, you’ll get another chance because for a forward whose dangle works once, you know he’s going to try it again.

Ah…the dangle.  Long live the dangle.

1 Comment

Filed under stickhandling, sticks

One response to “The Dangle

  1. Mark

    There should be an exception in old timers hockey to the ‘no contact’ rule. Defencemen shouldn’t have to play the puck when a dangle is in progress. Of course I write this comment as someone who is incapable of the dangle, generally plays D and has frequently been dangled out of my jock strap.

Leave a Reply

