Love of Hockey, Love of a Women

I’m old enough to remember when Gordon Lightfoot wasn’t old.   He’s one of those Canadian songwriters that some love, some hate.  My father in the former category, my father-in-law in the latter.  Lightfoot once wrote a song called “Did She Mention My Name” where he lyrically wonders about a love from days gone by.   I’m not sure if he is talking hockey or not but I’m going to assume so when he asks the question “Is the home team still on fire, do they still win all their games?” because it just fits for me.   After I left Peterborough, hearing this song often made me think of the Pete’s, because from my youth, they were a perennial contender.

Leave a comment

Filed under Girls, music

Leave a Reply

